Meditation Monday: What Are You Doing God?


Have you ever asked God, what are you doing? I have asked the question many times, usually it is when I am going through a rough patch in life. I remember walking home from class when I was in college, when a friend passing me told me my house was on fire, in fear I ran to my house wondering if my wife and kids got out. When I arrived at the house, the firman prevented me from entering and from a distance I heard someone calling my name, praise God it was my wife. But after all the commotion and I had time to sit and think I wondered, God what are you doing?

Many times when life gets tough, when we face trials and testings we wonder what God is doing in our life. We wonder why is God allowing these things to happen. Then we come to James 1, where James tells us to count it all joy when we face various trials. 

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds,for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. – James 1:2-4

There could a myriad of reasons God is allowing trials in your life, but here are 3 reasons to be joyful when life gets tough.

God Is Still Working 

Be joyful because God is still working in your life. We know when the going gets tough God is providentially working all things for the good towards those who love him. If you are going through a tough time, you can be joyful because God is working even though you may not see it at this time.

God Is Working In You To Produce Endurance

Have you ever tried to run a race, play basketball or football without any training? When your young it’s a possibility, but when you are in your 40’s you begin hurting in places you didn’t realize could hurt. 

This is what happened to me when I started jogging. I had to work my way up to a mile, then two and so on. I had to train to produce endurance. 

Be joyful because God uses the hard times in our life to bring us to a place of weakness and dependency on Christ. It is this place of weakness and dependency we begin to realize more and more how much we need Christ. 

It is in this place of weakness, God’s grace produces in us the essential characteristics needed to endure in Christ to the end. Which is why the Apostle Paul can say “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

God Is Working To Make The Best You Possible

First notice James says, “let steadfastness have its full effect.” Which means we are participants of God’s working. The way we respond when we are being forged in the fire is vital to our growth.

Now notice the full effect of steadfastness “that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.” The full effect of God working in your life through the testing and trials is so that you can be the best you possible on this earth, for his glory. 

Look at the words James uses “perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.” How is that possible? In Christ! In Christ we are perfect. In Christ we are complete. In Christ we are lacking in nothing. 

Be joyful because the testings and trials of life is God forging the necessary qualities to produce in practice on earth how God sees us in heaven in Christ, perfect, complete and lacking in nothing.

Until Next Time

Count it all joy

Leave a Reply

