The Early Bird Gets The Link

Some good links in today’s edition, hope you enjoy the links.

Seeking Unity in the Southern Baptist Convention

For those who have been following the issues between the ERLC & the SBC, here is a helpful response from the ERLC executive committee and Dr. Moore.

When Christians annoy you #1: remember Christ died for them

Our frustration is a form of judging. We convene the court, appoint ourselves as judge and come to our verdict. It all takes place in our heads, but that’s what we’re doing. Look at verse 10: ‘You, then, why do you judge your brother or sister?’ Or look at verse 13: ‘Therefore let us stop passing judgment on one another.’ Stop passing judgment.

6 Lessons Learned Ministering in a Blue-Collar Community

I serve in a church in a small town in South Carolina. Our church is a blue-collar church. You must understand that blue-collar is not primarily about socioeconomics—it is primarily about a mindset. I have people in my church that make very good money. I have men in my church that make $200,000 per year while wearing a t-shirt and jeans to work every day. We have college graduates, bankers, and people with advanced degrees. But the profession doesn’t make the man (or woman). The profession is what they do, but not who they are. Deep down they are small-town people. Many of them are country people. They are wonderful, fun, salt-of-the-earth people, but they do not fit in well among a white-collar crowd. (And for the record, they are perfectly OK with that.)

Why I Didn’t Sing When I Visited Your Church

I enjoyed Challies’ stylistic approach to this article.

Faith Engages the Omnipotence of God

There is no road betwixt my soul and heaven. In the deepest wintertime faith is a road on which the horses of prayer may travel–aye, and all the better for the biting frost; but blockade the road, and how can we communicate with the Great King? Faith links me with divinity. Faith clothes me with the power of God. Faith engages on my side the omnipotence of Jehovah. Faith ensures every attribute of God in my defence. It helps me to defy the hosts of hell. It makes me march triumphant over the necks of my enemies.

Teach Teens Discernment

Caring for plants reminds me that growth takes a lot of work. But growth is also a necessary survival mechanism for all living things. If a flower grows, it’s alive. If it stops (or never starts), it withers and dies. That’s basic biology.

Leave a Reply

