Deep and Wide Worship


As I was driving yesterday afternoon listening to some worship genre music, I felt it lacking depth, as I reflected back on my worship throughout the week, it felt depthless, monotonous and routine, I felt it lacking awe.

But how can my worship of God lack awe?

I worship an awesome God, who is holy and sovereign. He reigns on high, who can compare to the greatness of the Lord? His mercy is everlasting, his love is a steadfast love, his compassion is on display in the many acts of love showered on us daily. Who can compare to the greatness of the Lord? 

I began to ask God for mercy, grace and forgiveness for my depthless, monotonous and routine mouthing of words because whatever I was doing it was not worship. As I was praying I began to ask the Lord to help me worship like the Apostles because I was reminded of Peter’s outburst of worship we will be discussing in our Sunday School class,

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time. – 1 Peter 1:3-5

Peter wasn’t lacking awe, his worship was the opposite of depthless, monotonous and routine. Peter burst forth in praise, crying out blessing to God the Father for Jesus Christ. Peter most likely, thinking back to the words of Jesus “follow me and I will make you fishers of men.” Remembering the Father’s mercifully choosing him through Christ and causing him to be born again to a living hope. In this moment of worship he most likely thought back to the moment his salvation was sealed forever, when Mary and the other women burst through the upper room proclaiming “He is risen” and Peter probably remembered seeing the the risen Lord on the seas shore, hearing the voice of love and grace, “Peter feed my sheep.” 

Peter was awestruck by a God who took a sinner and made him an heir of heaven. An heir who will recieve that which is “imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you.” An heir who through faith in the Father, through the work of his Son, by the power of His Spirit is being guarded and kept for that great day of salvation. On that great day of salvation, faith will become sight and awe and worship will be eternal. 

I stand in awe because just like Peter, the Lord has mercifully chosen and caused us to be born again. The Lord has sealed our salvation by rising from the dead. The Lord has taken us sinners and made us heirs of heaven. The Lord guards and keeps us until that great day of salvation. Blessed be God the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ!

How is your worship? Is it depthless, monotonous and routine? Or is it deep and wide, flowing like the worship of Peter?

Lord help us worship like the Apostles.

Leave a Reply

