Spoken Word Saturday: Daddy Are You Proud Of Me?

For some Father’s Day is a blessed day. Those who have a godly man as a father, or even a good father, Father’s Day is a good time. But there are many who are fatherless, whether it is through loss of life or abandonment, for them Father’s Day is day that reminds them what they are missing.

When I was growing up Father’s Day always left me with a longing for someone to call daddy. Someone to love me, speak into my life, teach me to play ball, change the oil, be the sage, guide me into life, someone to love me.

This spoken word speaks of a child who is missing a father due to various life situations. Although I am not sure if he is a Christian, it speaks to the issue and emotions of being fatherless, with the simple question, daddy are you proud of me?

If it wasn’t for Christ calling me from the pit of despair, who knows where I would be. Because through Christ “I know of a Father of the fatherless and protector of widows (Psalm 68:5). A Father who would give up His only Son to adopt me as his own (John 3:16, Eph. 1). A Father who will never leave, whose love is everlasting and is there even when you don’t see him. He is a Father who gives you his Spirit so that we may cry “Abba! Father!” In times of need. I thank God for Grace, through Grace  he has provided me with a Heavenly Father who because of Christ life, death, ressurection and ascension looks at me and says “this is my beloved son in whom I am well pleased.”

For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!” – Romans 8:15

Leave a Reply

