Favorite Quotes From Un-Ashamed By Lecrae

 img_0353

Here are some of my favorite quotes from Un-Ashamed by Lecrae. You can get his book from Amazon or the audio book which is $7 on ChristianAudio

“Every significant life event, every birthday was a reminder that I didn’t fit in.
It’s as if God had enrolled me in boot camp, and I wasn’t even aware of it. It’s like God knew one day I’d need a little extra something to keep showing up when it felt awkward, to keep walking when no one noticed, to keep making music even though many dismiss it before even listening to it.”

 “As I’ve said in songs and speeches, if you live for people’s acceptance, you’ll die from their rejection”

 “I’ve heard people say that the traumas from our childhoods follow us into adulthood. That’s certainly true for me. If you could trace my life’s biggest struggles back to their origin, most of them would lead to a childhood version of me wrestling with my father’s absence. Even when I wasn’t rebelling or having an emotional breakdown, there was a dull, throbbing sense of rejection and abandonment.”

 “My social status rose at the Boys and Girls Club, but the deeper longings remained. Childhood inched toward adolescence, but in some ways I remained that baby boy born in Harris County Hospital a handful of years prior. I was still crying out for attention, nourishment, and love. I didn’t have athleticism or toughness or fancy clothes or the highest intelligence. I didn’t have a father at home or any consistent role models to show me what growing up looked like. But at least I had the music.”

 “There are few guarantees in life, but you can count on this: if you ignore your wounds, they will not go away. They will get worse and grow infected. And when an infected wound is ignored, the infection can spread to other parts of the body, to other parts of your life.”

“In a trauma-filled world like mine,  God was an afterthought. God was irrelevant. If God did exist, and I had my doubts, He wasn’t looking out for people like me. So why would I waste my time looking for God?”

“I make a point to show off my scars because I want others to know they aren’t alone… Because scars are evidence that wounds can heal.”

“If you don’t know your lost, you can’t be led. And if you can’t be honest, you can’t be healed. Before I could be rescued, I needed to realize i was stranded.”

“Old habits die hard, and if you’re not careful, the person you used to be can overtake the person you’re trying to become.”   

“When life gets low, people start grasping for things that will lift them up.”  

“A person can be removed from slavery in an instant, but it takes a lifetime for slavery to be removed from a person.”

“There are moments in life when God tries to get our attention. Moses met God in a flaming bush, Samuel heard a voice in the night, and the apostle Paul had his famous Damascus Road experience. In modern times, God often speaks in less dramatic, but equally significant, ways. The thing that matters most in moments like these is whether we are willing to listen to and heed what God is trying to say.”

“Your true character is revealed not by how you act when life goes your way, but how you act when the bottom falls out.”

“But when people try to avoid suffering by sinning, they end up sinning their way into suffering.”

“Following Jesus doesn’t mean you will start living perfectly overnight. It certainly doesn’t mean that your problems will disappear. Rather than ridding you of problems or temptations, following Jesus just means that you have a place-no a person-to run to when they come. And the power to overcome them.”

“Art is nothing if not a reflection of the artist. My worldview had transformed. It was only a mateer of time before the music followed.”

“But when we see the world through a divided lens, we can easily end up living divided lives. We act one way in church or any other “sacred” space. Then we act another way when we’re out with our friends in “secular” spaces. And the result is that the things of God rarely come into contact with or influence the world.”

“We are God’s poem to the world.”

Until Next Time

Soli Deo Gloria

Leave a Reply

