Driving It Home

 Photo credit: http://www.mudpuddlestometeors.com/night-sky-watcher-giveaway/
My family and I are on the road, heading west to California from Arkansas. Around four in the morning it was my turn to take the wheel. My wife and kids resting, as well as they could in a Honda, I started admiring the night sky then I check my rear view mirror, which is facing east and I realize I am driving into the darkness of the night away from the light of the Eastern sunrise.

Driving through New Mexico into the night, the Lord was using this image to speak volumes into my life. The Lord was using His creation and Scripture, proclaiming His goodness and mercy to me, speaking into my heart. The Lord reminded me of the direction I was headed in, the beauty of His mercy and His promise of presence when the light seems far off.

Can A Blind Man Finally See The Light?

As I was driving West into the darkness, the Lord reminded me, at one time I was on a one way street into darkness. I was going deeper and deeper into darkness, but God, one of my favorite phrases. God chose to reveal the light of Christ and gave me the ability to treasure the light of Christ above my darkness. The Apostle Paul says,

for at one time you were darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Walk as children of light – Ephesians 5:8

Before Christ I was a blind man wandering in the darkness of my sin. But God’s grace in the person of Christ reached down deep into my pit of despair and darkness and revealed His Light. He not only revealed the light of the Gospel to me, he transformed me from a person of darkeness to a person of light. Christ gave me the ability to treasure Him above everything, but He also gave me the the ability, through the power of the Holy Spirit to walk as a child of the light. Which is why the Apostle Paul commands us to walk as children of the light and gives us a description of what that means,

9 (for the fruit of light is found in all that is good and right and true), and try to discern what is pleasing to the Lord. – Ephesians 5:9-10

One of the Holy Spirit’s functions in our lives is empowering us to bear fruit of light. Paul explains that the fruit of light is all that is good, right and true. Christ through the Spirit enables us to bear fruit of light and through the Holy Spirit, which lives in us, we are able to discern what is good, right, true and pleasing to the Lord.

As I was meditating the song, On My Way by Matt Maher came on which brought this reminder home.

Can a blind man finally see the light
Can a blind man finally see the light
Well, if you were in the dark your whole life
Could you tell what the light looks like
Can a blind man finally see the light
 Well, I'm on my way, I can't get there on my own
At Heaven's gate, no one's getting through alone
So as I wait for You to come and take me home
I'm a-walkin' in the light with You to Kingdom come

The Beauty of His Mercy

But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.” The LORD is good to those who wait for him, to the soul who seeks him. – Lamentations 3:21-25

Like Jeremiah, I recalled the Lord’s steadfast love and his never ending mercies. The Lord doesn’t have to be merciful to us. We deserve His judgement and wrath. But he chooses to be merciful, he chooses to withhold His fury and shower us with love and mercies which are new every morning. As I looked in my rear view mirror I could see the night sky diminishing because light was rising. His mercies, which are as vast as the sky, were being revealed because our God is faithful.

As Jeremiah did thousands of years ago, my soul burst with hope and proclaimed “The Lord is my portion.” I prayed the Lord continue to root out of my heart all which competes for His attention.

The Promise of Presence 

Finally, the Lord reminded me of His promise to be present.

fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. – Isaiah 41:10

When the Lord spoke these words through Isaiah, the people of God where entering into dark times, driving the nation into the night.

But God.

God gives them a promise, which in dark times is reassuring, the Lord says “I am with you.” No matter how bad it gets, the Lord says I will be with you. It doesn’t matter if a foreign country invades you, your children get taken from you, and you are sent to a foreign land. The Lord says I am with you.

God promises to be present with you through the suffering, through the struggle. The author of Hebrews reassures us,

For because he himself has suffered when tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted. – Hebrews 2:18

For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin.Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need. – Hebrews 4:15-16

Christ knows suffering, he knows struggle, he even knows the feeling of abandonment. His cry from cross is complex and expresses deep sorrow “My God, My God, why have you forsaken me?” No one can sympathize with you more than Christ can. When you are driving into a dark night, know that the Light is rising in the East. Know the Lord is with you. Know Christ can sympathize with you. But most of all know that Christ is the answer. When the dark night of suffering falls up you, do not allow it to drive you away from God, allow it to drive you to the throne of grace, in order that Christ can pour on you mercy and grace in time of need.

Until next time

Solo Deo Gloria

Leave a Reply

