Meditation Monday: Time For A Self Evaluation

Meditation Monday is where I share my ramblings and reflections from Sunday’s sermons from Watson Chapel Baptist Church in Pine Bluff, AR, Pastor Todd Howard. We are currently going through Acts in our morning service and Genesis in our evening service.

As I began meditating on yesterday’s sermons I began performing a self-evaluation of my life, character and spiritual development in light of the three biblical characters we studied. We focused our attention on the story of Esau selling his birthright to Jacob for a bowl of soup (Gen. 25:19-34) in the evening and the life of Stephen in the morning (Acts 6).

Before I move on allow me to define how I used these biblical characters as an evaluation tool.

Esau – infamous for selling his birthright for a bowl of soup. Esau, I perceive, is a man who lives for the moment. Esau most likely had a “if it benefits me in the here and now, I will do it” attitude. Esau a man who trades eternal treasures for temporal pleasures.

Jacob – infamous for taking advantage of his brother’s situation to advance himself.  Jacob was greedy, to obtain Esau’s birthright meant he would inherit two portions of his fathers estate. Jacob was dissatisfied, impatient and a cheat. Jacob coveted after the right thing but it led him to obtain it the wrong way.

Stephen – Stephen is one of my favorite persons to read about. Stephen was a sinner like Jacob, Esau and even me. But Stephen provides hope because Scripture says Stephen was a man “of good repute, full of the Spirit and of wisdom.” Grace found Stephen through the person of Jesus Christ and through Christ, via the Holy Spirit, Stephen was a person filled with the Word, wisdom, character, grace, a servants heart, Gospel defender, and bold preacher. Stephen found his ultimate treasure and satisfaction in Christ alone and it cost him his life.

If God can do this in the life of Stephen, he can do it in me.

Questions To Ask
As I have been meditating throughout the day, here are some questions I have been asking. This isn’t meant to be a legalistic beat down, but a tool to evaluate the trends of life. I hope you reflect on the past year and evaluate what life trends you need to develop or break to continue to grow in the grace of Lord Jesus Christ this year.

Do I trade eternal treasures for temporal pleasures?

Do I sacrifice time with God in prayer and the Word for the snooze button, TV, or just hanging out?

Do I make a habit of neglecting time with/serving my local church for me time, sports, etc.?

Am I hurt or hold resentment in my heart which causes me to act out sinfully?

Do I attempt to gain good things on my timing at the detriment of my family,  friendship or church relationships?

Do I try to get a step up in life at the expense of others?

Do I have a “Lord if you do this, then I will do” attitude?

Do you buy into a prosperity gospel, a give to get theology?

Do I cheat in any area in my life to gain good things? Bad things?

Do you have a servants heart?

How is your passion for God’s word? Do you desire to read it? Does it feel like a chore?

Do you enjoy fellowshiping/serving your local church?

Are you a Gospel defender?

Do you allow the Lord to build your character, even when it hurts?

Are you allowing the Lord to develop the fruit of the Spirit in your life?

Are you seeking to be filled with the Spirit?

Are you a spectator or participant in your worship services?

Does your life reflect that Christ is your ultimate treasure and satisfaction?

As you can see the Lord has been working on my heart today. Growing is painful, but so worth it.

Until next time
Soli Deo Gloria

Leave a Reply

